Level 4 Award in The Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice

Who's it for?


This qualification is suitable for:

  • Practitioners who require formal recognition of their occupational competence for the role of IQA to meet the Assessment Strategies of Sector Skills Councils/ regulatory requirements.


Entry to the qualification is at the discretion of the centre. While there are no specific skills, knowledge, understanding or any other qualifications that must be achieved to start this qualification, IQA-candidates must have the potential and opportunity to gain this qualification successfully. Therefore, IQA-candidates must have access to learners who are undertaking work-based regulated qualifications.

This qualification is mainly taken by individuals employed as:

  • Internal Quality Assurers requiring formal recognition of their knowledge and skills for Regulatory requirement purposes.

  • Assessors wishing to augment their existing assessment/internal quality assurance knowledge and skills.

What's involved?

The qualification will develop knowledge and skills in the principles and practices of internal quality assurance.

This qualification covers the following areas:

  • the underpinning knowledge and understanding of the principles of and practices of internal quality assurance

  • the planning of quality assurance

  • evaluation of the quality of assessment; maintenance and improvement of the quality of assessment; managing information relating to the quality of assessment and maintaining robust and legal quality assurance practice. 

What you get out of it

The Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice Award can lead to employment within the training, learning and development sector as an internal quality assurer of RQF and CQFW qualifications.

What will I learn?

As this is a knowledge- and competence-based qualification, candidates will be acquiring the knowledge and skills required through on-the-job experience or in a learning environment.

To achieve the whole qualification verifier-candidates need to complete two mandatory units (12 credits):

  • Understanding the Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the    Quality of Assessment

  • Internally Assure the Quality of Assessment

Fact Sheet
Application Form
Course Dates and Venu